Roles and permissions
The following roles can archive and/or unarchive a control:
Anyone with manager permissions on the control
As your program grows, you may find that some controls are no longer needed. As with programs, archiving controls removes them from view, but doesn’t completely remove them from Hyperproof. This is helpful should you need to access an archived control in the future.
Archiving a control
When you archive a control, the control data is altered as follows:
Links to requirements, risks, vendors, access reviews, scopes, and Hypersyncs are removed.
Tasks are cancelled, and the link to the task is removed.
Freshness settings are removed.
Health status is removed because requirements and scopes are removed.
Control scopes archived as a result of a scope being archived under Settings > Scopes appear in the Inactive section of the control scopes panel and are marked as Archived.
Control scopes archived by archiving the parent control are listed in the Inactive section of the scopes panel, but are not marked as Archived.
To archive a control:
From the left menu, select Controls.
Click the Grid view icon.
Select the checkboxes next to the controls you want to archive.
Click Archive.
The Review and confirm window opens.
Click Confirm.
The controls are now archived.
Tip: To archive a control linked to a risk, the user must first be a member of the associated Risk Register and have the necessary permissions to archive risks within it.
Unarchiving a control
When you unarchive a control, control data is updated as follows:
Previously linked access reviews are relinked to the control.
Hypersyncs configured on the control are restored.
Tasks canceled by the archiving process are displayed in the task list but remain in a canceled state. Task status must be updated manually, or the task must be recreated.
If you manually relink scopes, any data associated with those scopes for this control is restored.
If you don't manually relink control scopes, they display in the Inactive section of the Scopes panel on the parent control.
All other links must be restored manually.
Follow the steps below to unarchive a control.
From the left menu, select Controls.
Select the Grid view icon.
Click the down arrow next to Controls.
Select Archived.
The list of archived controls displays.Select the controls you want to unarchive.
Click Unarchive.
The controls are now restored.
Note: If you have Expand scopes selected on the archived controls grid, and you select control scopes, the Unarchive button is grayed out. You can only unarchive controls from the archived controls grid, not control scopes.
A note about freshness on archived controls
If freshness is set on a control, and the control is archived, the freshness status changes to 'None' and all associated information is removed. Further, unarchiving a control does not restore its original freshness status.
Unarchiving a control scope
When you archive a control, any control scopes for that control are also archived. If you unarchive the parent control, the control scopes are not unarchived. They have to be unarchived manually.
From the left menu, select Controls.
Select the Grid view icon.
Click the down arrow next to Controls.
Select Archived.
The list of archived controls displays.Open the control containing the archived control scopes.
In the Scopes Navigation panel under Inactive, select the control scope you want to unarchive.
Note: If a control scope is archived because the Scope itself was archived, you must unarchive the Scope under Settings > Scopes.Click the Unarchive button at the top of the window.



